Photo: Francesca Patella

After her Solo performance on the 3rd August, Slovenian pianist Kaja Draksler opens up the long Saturday night at Radialsystem V with her own chamber ensemble presenting the East-European and the Amsterdam-based movement of contemporary music. As a composer, she is primarily concerned with areas of tension, confrontation and connection between composition and improvisation. For the Europe-wide sought-after Kaja Draksler Octet, she invited important representatives of the young Dutch jazz scene to help her bring her artistic vision to life in a precisely arranged yet also improvisational context – an eclectic blend of avant-garde jazz, modernism, neo-classical, impressionism and folkloristic elements of traditional Slovenian music. The interdisciplinary Dutch vocal duo of Laura Polence and Björk Níelsdóttir are just as much a part of the octet as the Argentinian saxophonist Ada Rave, Romanian violinist George Dumitriu, Dutch drummer Onno Govaert, Belgian bass player Lennart Heyndels, and the Dutch elder statesman Ab Baars on the tenor saxophone. See them Live while you can!

August 05 @ Radialsystem main hall:

Kaja Draksler (SL) — piano
Laura Polence (LV/NL) — voice
Björk Níelsdóttir (IS/NL) — voice
Ada Rave (AR/NL) — reeds
Ab Baars (NL) — reeds
George Dumitriu (RO/NL) — violin & viola
Lennart Heyndels (BL/NL) — double-bass
Onno Govaert (NL) — drums